To better support different data retention strategies, organization admins are able to delete their teams’ documents in bulk from HelloSign. Bulk delete is available in the Admin Console and provides org admins with two options for removing documents from HelloSign.
One-Time Delete is a manual bulk delete option that removes all documents completed(signed or declined) to date from your HelloSign account. This option is irreversible and there is a 72 hour retention period that allows you and other administrators to download or sync to your preferred cloud storage solution any documents you wish to retain prior to deletion. To perform a one time delete use the steps below:
Navigate to your admin console within the dropdown menu from your login email in the upper righthand corner.
Click on Settings and then 'Documents and Templates'.
Click on 'Configure' to the right of Delete documents.
The first option is One-Time delete, to the right of the description click on 'Delete Documents'.
A popup will appear, review the text and check off the two boxes at the bottom of the popup to agree to the terms. *Please be sure to save all documents in a separate location if you still need access to them.
Click on 'Delete Documents', the popup then closes and you'll see a notification bar across the top of your screen indicating a successful delete.
With Ongoing Delete, org admins can opt to have all future documents automatically deleted from their HelloSign account upon completion. Activating this feature means that all documents going forward will be deleted 72 hours after completion. If Ongoing Delete is deactivated, any pending deletion of documents(those that are within the 72 hour retention period) will be canceled and those documents will not be deleted. To enable an ongoing delete follow steps 1 - 3 above and the steps below.
The second option will be Ongoing Delete, to the right of the description click on 'Activate'.
A popup will appear, review the text and check off the two boxes at the bottom of the popup when you're ready to proceed. *Please be sure to save all documents in a separate location if you still need access to them.
Click on 'Turn on ongoing delete', the popup will then close and you'll see a notification along the top of your screen indicating the feature has been successfully activated.
Bulk Delete + Sync
One-Time Delete + Sync
We recommend confirming that all of your existing documents have synced to the cloud storage service of your choice before using the One-Time Delete feature to ensure ongoing access. One-Time Delete does not confirm whether a document has successfully synced before it is deleted.
Ongoing Delete + Sync
If your organization is using both cloud sync and Ongoing Delete, documents will be deleted from HelloSign 72 hours following a successful sync. If a document fails to sync to the integrated cloud storage solution, HelloSign will notify the organization administrator and will not queue the document for deletion. If that occurs and you still wish to delete the document from HelloSign, you may use the One-Time Delete feature to do so.
Please note that once a synced document is queued for deletion, it will be removed from your HelloSign organization in 72 hours even if it is subsequently deleted from the cloud storage account.
*Users are encouraged to activate team cloud sync prior to using the bulk delete options.
Other Things to Know About Bulk Delete
HelloSign will notify all of the other admins and managers for your organization when you use either of the bulk delete options above. This is done to give your teammates visibility and the opportunity to back up any documents they wish to retain access to.
Both of the bulk delete options apply to all completed documents in your HelloSign organization, not just those you own.
Active signature requests and draft documents will not be deleted with One-Time Delete. You can delete these documents individually, by canceling a signature request or deleting the draft in your Documents section. If you have activated Ongoing Delete, these documents will be automatically deleted after they are completed.
Documents stored outside of your HelloSign organization, such as those synced to your cloud storage solution or signers’ copies that are not part of your org, will not be deleted.